School Board

Board Members

December 16, 2019



The Nottoway County School Board will hold a Public Hearing on the
2020-2021 Budget at its regular monthly meeting on Thursday, January 9, 2020
at 7:00 p.m. in the Nottoway High School Mini-Auditorium.
The Nottoway County School Board will hold a second Public Hearing on
the 2020-2021 Budget at its regular monthly meeting on Thursday, February 13,
2020 at 7:00 p.m. in the Nottoway High School Mini-Auditorium.
Any person wanting to comment during the hearing must register no later
than 7:00 p.m. Persons making comments will be given three minutes to address
Board member(s) present. It is recommended that any person making comments
bring copies of any remarks, and provide them to the clerk, Mrs. Charlotte Wood,
during registration.



The regular monthly meeting of the Nottoway County School Board will be
held on Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 7:00 p.m. in the Nottoway High School
Mini-Auditorium. Any individual wishing to address the School Board during the
regular Public Comment section of the agenda should contact Mrs. Charlotte
Wood, Clerk, at 434-645-9596 prior to Friday, January 3, 2020. Feel free to

Charlotte D. Wood


By the State Code of Virginia, the School Board is required to reorganize at its first meeting each year, including setting the dates, times, and places for School Board meetings.


The School Board has met on the second Thursday in the past.  If the School Board chooses to meet on the second Thursday of each month for the 2019 year, the meeting dates would be as follows:


January 10, 2019                                                    July 11, 2019

February 14, 2019                                                  August 8, 2019

March 14, 2019                                                      September 12, 2019

April 11, 2019                                                        October 10, 2019

May 9, 2019                                                            November 14, 2019

June 13, 2019                                                                     December 12, 2019

The School Board meeting location is the Mini-Auditorium at Nottoway High School, 5267 Old Nottoway Road, Crewe, VA, at 7:00 p.m. unless otherwise noted.

Those wishing to speak at the meeting must notify the Clerk, Charlotte Wood, by the Friday before each meeting.  You can contact her at 434.645.9596 or email at

Roles And Responsibilities

School Board Roles and Responsibilities


  1. Approve policies for school division
  2. Establish spending priorities and approve budget
  3. Hire and evaluate Superintendent
  4. (Chair) Set meeting agenda with Superintendent
  5. Hear appeals and public comments
  6. Establish CIP (capital improvement project) priorities
  7. Approve Comprehensive Plan


  1. Hire and dismiss employees
  2. Intervene directly in school situations
  3. Have individual authority and power over school system

Superintendent Roles And Responsibilities


  1. Hold responsibility for day-to-day operations of school division
  2. Hire staff
  3. Supervise staff
  4. Seek and engage community support
  5. Build and maintain relationship with Board of Supervisors and County Administrator
  6. Implement policy
  7. Set expectations for staff
  8. Provide an example for staff
  9. Develop budget


  1. Tell Board what to do
  2. Approve budget
  3. Decide who will serve on school board

Minutes 2019

Minutes 2018

Minutes 2017

Minutes 2016

Minutes 2015

Minutes 2014

Minutes 2013

Budget Information

Budget Presentation
2nd Budget Presentation

Meet The Board

The Nottoway County School Board is responsible for governing the school division for the public. The School Board determines school division policy and employs the Superintendent to implement division policy. The Superintendent, administrative staff and teachers are responsible for the day-to-day operations. The School Board has its regular meetings at 7:00 p.m. on the second Thursday of each month. Special meetings are scheduled for action or discussion on matters that cannot wait until the next regular meeting.

Meet your Nottoway County School Board.
District 1 - William "Bill" Outlaw
District 2 - James "Jamie" Higgins, Vice-Chair
District 3 - Clive Pettis, Sr.
District 4 - James "Jimmy" Fowlkes, III
District 5 - Shelli Hinton, Chair

Bill Outlaw

William "Bill" Outlaw
District 1

James Higgins
James "Jamie" Higgins
District 2
Clive Pettis
Clive Pettis, Sr.
District 3
Jimmy Fowlkes
James "Jimmy" Fowlkes, III
District 4
Shelli Hinton
Shelli Hinton
District 5

NCPS Policy Manual




 District 1


William "Bill" Outlaw
4141 W. Courthouse Rd.

Crewe, VA  23930

Cell: 804-363-4338

District 2
James "Jamie" Higgins
612 E. Maryland Ave.
Crewe, VA 23930
Cell: 434-294-1433

District 3
Clive Pettis, Sr.
2344 Jenningstown Rd.
Crewe, VA 23930
Cell: 434.294.7993

District 4
James "Jimmy" Fowlkes, III
1476 E. Courthouse Rd.
Blackstone, VA 23824
Cell: 434-607-1352

District 5
Shelli Hinton
110 East 4th Street
Blackstone, VA 23824
Cell 434-292-9131


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.